Rolleston Cup

The Rolleston Cup competition, named after Sir John Rolleston (the leader of the Conservatives in Leicester), began in 1896, and was open to amateur clubs within a five-mile radius of Leicester. Three quarters of the gate receipts were given to Leicester charities and the remaining 25 per cent, divided between the Leicestershire Rugby Union and the Leicestershire Football Association. The finals of the association football and rugby union competitions were played on the same ground on the same afternoon.

Winners and Runners-Up





Leicester Clarence

Fosse Amateurs

Glen Parva

Barrow Rising Star

17th Leicestershire Reigment

White White Cross

Burbage United